More heavyweights fall in senatorial race

As National Assembly resumes plenary today after a one month break, no fewer than 23 out of 66 senators that sought re-election in last Saturday’s rescheduled National Assembly poll lost at the poll, going by the results released so far by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Out of the 109-member Senate, 66 Senators won their parties’ tickets last October to contest with 33 others failing in their re-election bid, while eight others will be contesting governorship election in their various states on Saturday, March 9.

Those who lost the senatorial election, according to INEC official results as at press time, include Senate President Bukola Saraki (PDP Kwara Central); Senate Minority Leader, Mrs Biodun Olujimi (PDP Ekiti South); former Senate Minority Leader, Mr Godswill Akpabio (APC Akwa Ibom North West); Mr Rabiu Kwankwaso (PDP Kano Central); Mr Shehu Sani (PRP Kaduna Central); Mr Mohammed Hassan (PDP Yobe South); Mr Binta Masi (APC Adamawa North); Mr Isa Misau (PDP Bauchi Central); Mr Rafiu Ibrahim ( PDP Kwara South); Mr George Akume (APC Benue North West); Mr Barnabas Gemade (SDP Benue North); Mr Ahmed Ogembe (Kogi Central) and Mr Aidoko Ali (PDP Kogi East).

Other losers are Mr Tayo Alasoadura (APC Ondo Central); Mr Yele Omogunwa (APC Ondo South); Mrs Monsurat Sunmonu (APC Oyo Central); Mr Soji Akanbi (ADC Oyo South); Mr Duro Faseyi (PDP Ekiti North); Mr Andy Ubah (APC Anambra South); Mr Victor Umeh (APGA Anambra Central); Mr Nelson Effiong (APC Akwa Ibom South), Mr Ubali Shittu (PDP North East) and Mr Mao Ohuabunwa (PDP Abia North).

The 19 victorious Senators include Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu (PDP Enugu West); Mr Dino Melaye (PDP Kogi West); Mr Philip Aduda (PDP FCT); Mrs Oluremi Tinubu (APC Lagos Central); Mr Abdullahi Adamu (APC Nasarawa West); Mr

Sabi Abdullahi (APC Niger North); Mr Francis Alimikhena (APC Edo North); Mr Abdulfatai Buhari (APC Oyo North) and Ms Stella Oduah (PDP Anambra North).

Other victorious senators are Mr Ahmad Baba-Kaita (APC Katsina North); Mr Ajayi Boroffice (APC Ondo Central); Chukwuka Utasi (PDP Enugu North); Mr Akpan Bassey (PDP Akwa Ibom North East); Adamu Aliero (APC Kebbi Central); Mr Bala Ibn Na’Allah (APC Kebbi South); Mr Abdullahi Yahaya (APC Kebbi East); Mr Kabiru Gaya (APC Kano South); Mr Barau Jibrin (APC Kano South); Mr Danjuma La’ah (PDP Kaduna South), Mr Aliyu Wammako (APC Sokoto North), Mr Danladi Sankara (APC Jigawa North West); and Mr Sabo Muhammed (APC Jigawa Central).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *